because you're a little too old for school clothes...

Friday, October 24, 2008

Look what I've found...

Yes-yes, it's here. me, anyway. Black Milk's Tronic has officially sprung a leak into the blogosphere. Peep the tracklisting:

01. Long Story Short 05:04
02. Bounce 04:37
03. Give The Drummer Sum 03:55
04. Without U (feat. Colin Munroe) 04:49
05. Hold It Down 04:23
06. Losing Out (feat. Royce Da 5'9") 04:55
07. Hell Yeah (feat. Fat Ray) 03:35
08. Overdose 03:04
09. RePPiN For U (feat. AB) 04:16
10. The Matrix (feat. Pharoahe Monch, Sean Price, & DJ Premier) 03:47
11. Try 03:25
12. Tronic Summer 02:26
13. Bond 4 Life (feat. Melanie Rutherford) 04:58
14. Elec (Outro) 02:44

Am I leaking it? No, you know me better than that; we support artists over here. But as they say, first hit's always free. Click the pic.

I was kicking it with fellow blogger gamalam about Black Milk's antics yesterday. I opined that Black Milk wears Dilla's battle rap side well, but does little justice to Soul Dilla or Electro/Experimental Jay Dee. I also recalled seeing an article in now-defunct Scratch magazine, in which Milk reviewed a Korg synth, and had good things to say, immediately completing a track entitled "Tronic Summer", suggesting that B. Milk might do more experimenting with his sound. Well, lo and behold; not only is "Tronic Summer" on the album, but the album as a whole takes it easy with the sample-heavy approach. Oh, but it's still hell. Umm...go buy. Official Murph Stamp of Approval.

Like track 3, give the drummer some.

Socialite Sign-off...


gamalam said...

Yeah... this album is definitely hard, but I feel it's more of the same. It's the type of variety that he already was working with. He basically turned his sample chops into synth stabs.

I'm definitely going to review this on my main site. I'm going to buy this on Tuesday at the record release party. Only $2... and Danny Brown's on the bill too. Best of Detroit hip hop right there.

Oh, and thanks for the shout! I'm gearing up to do some things on my main site. I might be hollering soon for contributions (written, that is)!

gamalam said...

Ay, I know you posted about Zo! the other blog. Notice how similar the instrumentation is on "Without You" to some of Zo!'s work. I don't think Zo! is on it, but it almost feels like he was zoning off of some of his old beat tapes. "Tronic Summer" even sounds like one of the freestyle sessions I've had with Zo! back in the day.

I'm going to ask my man what he thinks about that. Controversy! lol j/k